Friday, November 16, 2018

Hockey Nova Scotia Unveils 2019 Canada Winter Games Female Roster

Twenty girls from across the province will represent N.S. in February in Red Deer, Alta.

Hockey Nova Scotia is proud to announce the female hockey roster that will represent the province at next year’s Canada Winter Games.

Twenty players from across Nova Scotia have been named to the province’s Canada Winter Games female hockey team.

Between the pipes, Lunenburg’s Madison Beck and Falmouth’s Deanna Fraser will share goaltending duties for Team Nova Scotia.

The blue line will include Kyla Bent (Halifax), Madelyn Walsh (Hammonds Plains), Ella MacLean (Antigonish), Nicole MacNeil (Sydney), Mallory Thornhill (Dartmouth), and Lindsey Smith (Onslow).

Up front, Team Nova Scotia will be represented by forwards Avi Adam (Wolfville), Landyn Pitts (Antigonish), Maggy Burbidge (Falmouth), Erin Denny (Eskasoni), Jillian Duggan (Halifax), Ashlyn Garnett (Dartmouth), Madison Gray (Hammonds Plains), Tiffany Hill (Falmouth), Ellen Laurence (Kentville), Ashley Penney (Lawrencetown), Kara MacLean (Antigonish), and Aimee O’Neill (Glace Bay).

The team was selected following an evaluation process that included camps and competition. The final roster was compiled in October following the 2018 Atlantic Challenge Cup in Moncton, N.B.

“This has been a long selection process but we are very pleased with the roster that we have assembled,” head coach Kirk Tomlinson said.

“We can’t wait to get to Red Deer and compete in February.”

The 2019 Canada Winter Games female hockey tournament will be held from Feb. 23 to Mar. 2, 2019 in Red Deer, Alta.

The team will hold a pre-tournament conditioning camp during the Christmas break at the RBC Centre in Dartmouth.

For a complete roster including players and team staff, please see below.

Hockey Nova Scotia would like to congratulate the 20 players named to our Canada Winter Games female team. We wish you the best of luck in Red Deer. We will be cheering you on.


Madison Beck (Lunenburg, N.S.)

Deanna Fraser (Falmouth, N.S.)


Kyla Bent (Halifax, N.S.)

Madelyn Walsh (Hammonds Plains, N.S.)

Ella MacLean (Antigonish, N.S.)

Nicole MacNeil (Sydney, N.S.)

Mallory Thornhill (Dartmouth, N.S.)

Lindsey Smith (Onslow, N.S.)


Avi Adam (Wolfville, N.S.)

Landyn Pitts (Antigonish, N.S.)

Maggy Burbidge (Falmouth, N.S.)

Erin Denny (Eskasoni, N.S.)

Jillian Duggan (Halifax, N.S.)

Ashlyn Garnett (Dartmouth, N.S.)

Madison Gray (Hammonds Plains, N.S.)

Tiffany Hill (Falmouth, N.S.)

Ellen Laurence (Kentville, N.S.)

shley Penney (Lawrencetown, N.S.)

Kara MacLean (Antigonish, N.S.)

Aimee O’Neill (Glace Bay, N.S.)

Team Staff

Director of operations: Brad Taylor (Lower Sackville, N.S.)

Head coach: Kirk Tomlinson (Hammonds Plains, N.S.)

Assistant coach: Isabelle Germain (Halifax, N.S.)

Assistant coach: Shauna Neary (Antigonish, N.S.)

Assistant coach: Mike Perrin (Cole Harbour, N.S.)

Goaltending coach: Jack Hartigan (Bedford, N.S.)

Equipment manager: Avard Cameron (Amherst, N.S.)

Author: CanadaGames

Categories: UncategorizedNumber of views: 1791



Thank you to our sponsors!

Planar Client Options

Layout Style

  • Boxed
  • Wide

Header & Footer

Theme Preview